Sandy Hector has been practising yoga for more than 40 years. She is a FRYOG trained yoga teacher holding weekly yoga classes in Newport on the Isle of Wight. The classes are suitable for beginners or anyone wishing to have a gentle stretch and lovely deep healing relaxation. Sandy teaches in a style similar to Satyananda yoga, a traditional approach to yoga following the teachings of Swami Satyananda Saraswati.

Yoga classes


When are Classes?

Classes are held every Thursday morning 10.15 - 11.45
The Methodist Church Hall, Union Street, Newport.

Cost of Classes
The cost of classes is £8 per class. Alternatively, I offer a discount for payment in advance at the beginning of the month. Please ask in class.

Please contact me on 07779 424018 or use the contact me form for more information.

What is Satyananda Yoga?

Satyananda Yoga incorporates practices derived from ancient and traditional sources and uses practises in a traditional way; asanas (postures) to balance the body and mind through the physical body, pranayama (breathing practices) to work on the energy body (equated with Ki or Chi in other systems), and meditation and concentration to calm and focus the mind. 
The Satyananda approach incorporates the whole person, not just the body. There is an emphasis on awareness and practitioners are encouraged to learn about all aspects of their personality through Yoga. Change is a process that takes place naturally as a consequence of regular practice with full awareness, rather than by forcing the mind and body to the limit and beyond. 

How can Yoga help me?
Yoga is an excellent way to balance body, mind and spirit in today's modern world. Regular practice will reduce stress and anxiety and bring about peace and harmony within.

When you start practising yoga it doesn’t mean you have to change anything.  You just add another habit; Yoga.  Through the experience of yoga you will gain an understanding and acceptance of yourself.  Yoga is an inner experience and through yoga you will develop a strong and healthy body and a quiet and calm mind.

Yoga and meditation is not part of a religion, it is intended to transform and develop the conscious awareness so you become free and independent to live and create your life as you wish. Anyone can attend regardless of their age, social background, fitness levels or beliefs.

Surya Namaskara

Learn about Surya Namaskara, The Sun Salutation
Click here to learn about the benefits of Surya Namaskara (Sun Saluation). By practising for 15 mins every day you will have sound physical and mental health throughout your life.

8 Limbs of Yoga

The Eight limbs of yoga form a structured framework for living happily, healthily and peacefully in all aspects of daily life. They are practical guides for personal development; for achieving harmony of mind, body and spirit, eventually leading to Samadhi or enlightenment. The significance and purpose of each limb is concerned with a different aspect of dailing living. You can work on one limb and as your understanding broadens, move on to the next.


The 7 Chakras

The Chakras

The Chakras are energy centres that control the flow of energy throughout the physical body via the Nadis. The Nadies are a similar concept to neurons, whereas neurons carry chemical messages from the brain to the various parts of the body, the Nadis carry energy throughout the body. There are a total of 72,000 nadis within the body, however, the most important Nadis are Ida, Pingala and Shushumna. Shushumna (or Brahman Nadi as it is sometimes called) is related to the central nervous system and passes through the spinal column. Enlightenment is experienced when man's primal energy (or kundalini) rises through Shushumna from the lowest to the highest chakra (Mooladara to Sahasara). Ida and Pingala nadis are related to the parasympathetic and sympathetic nervous systems and cross the spinal column and join with Shushumna at the chakra points.

Bringing Ida and Pingala into equilibrium is a major focus of hatha yoga - the term hatha symbolizes balance. The word hatha literally means 'forceful' in Sanskrit, it is composed of ha and tha, two esoteric bija (seed) mantras that have deep meaning and power.

Ha represents the solar qualities, the vital force of Pingala; Tha represents the mind and the lunar qualities of Ida.

Balancing sun and moon, or Pingala and Ida, facilities the awakening and arising of kundalini, and thus the awakening of higher consciousness. In fact, some yoga teachings hold that as long as either Ida or Pingala predominates, Sushumna stays closed and the power of kundalini lies dormant.

The most powerful method of balancing Ida and Pingala Nadis is Nadi Shodhana pranayama, alternate nostril breathing. (Literally, the Sanskrit means 'nadi cleansing'). This practise is effective because the Ida Nadi is directly connected to the left nostril and the Pingala Nadi to the right nostril. A few rounds of this basic pranayama technique at the end of the practise is an excellent way to help restore equilibrium between the two nadis (the two hemispheres of the brain).


Find us on  Yoga Hub | Satyananda Yoga Yoga Bliss Shop | Yoga mats, yoga bags, yoga clothing and yoga  equipment



Sandy Hector BSc(Hons) Psychology, Certificate in Education (Southampton University), Certified Master Practitioner of NLP, Certified Master Practitioner of HNLP, Certified Master Practitioner of the Art and Science of Time-Based Techniques, Registered Hypnotherapist (GHR), DipHypHSOH, Certified Hypno-gastric Band Therapist, Certified Parts Therapy Facilitator, FRYOG Yoga Teacher Diploma.


Find us at GHR